The Metaphysical Online Study Group

Two hands holding a heart made with tiny plants.

Everyone is welcome to join in this online Zoom meeting on Tuesdays from 1:30 to 3:30.


The Ways of the Mystic - 7 Paths to God by Joan Borysenko

Joan Borysenko, Ph.D., is the author of seventeen books, including the NY Times bestseller Minding the Body, Mending the Mind; It’s not the end of the World: Developing Resilience in Times of Change; and Your Soul’s Compass: What is Spiritual Guidance?. This remarkable little book is a concise distillation of seven different, traditional paths by which mystics have attempted to achieve divine union. Examples are used from many different cultures and religious traditions: Christian, Jewish, Sufi, Taoist, Buddhist, Native American, Hindu, etc. The fact that seven paths are delineated is not arbitrary, for seven is the number of spirituality, wisdom, magic, perfect order, and the macrocosm. There are seven notes to the musical scale, seven heavens, seven pillars of wisdom, seven charisms, seven branches to the tree of life, seven sacred directions to the medicine wheel, seven chakras....

Path One is the path of earth and home- that of the everyday mystic. This is the nature-centered path of those that see heaven reflected in the natural world.

Path Two is the path of creativity and abundance- that of generosity of the spirit. This is the path of tantric yoga, the divine marriage, of losing- and finding- yourself through selflessly giving yourself to another.

Path Three is the path of "how can I help"- the passion to serve. This is the path of selfless service to all of humanity as potential co-creators with God.

Path Four is the way of the heart- bridging earth and heaven. This is the inner path of the heart where one truly loves the Divine with all their heart, soul, and mind (bhakti yoga.) The practitioner here literally becomes the meeting point of heaven and earth through pure devotion.

Path Five is that of discipline, ethics, and will- thy will, not mine, be done. This is raja yoga- God-Union by following specific moral principles or laws that preserve the community, honor life, and lead to personal growth. It is an attempt to put our human will into accordance with the divine will through discipline and obedience.

Path Six is the opening of the wisdom eye- contemplation and transformation. This jnana yoga, the path of insight. This is the path of the dark night of the soul- of deep introspection- and of ego death. Ideally, it is the path of spiritual death and rebirth.

Path Seven is the way of faith- paradox and grace. This is God-union given as a gift from above, and not as a "reward" for works. Paradoxically this deals with both perfect faith in the Divine, as well as, the gift of absolute knowledge in the reality of the Divine.

The author points out that no one path is more advanced than another. Nor are they mutually exclusive for one may represent our primary path (the path on which we fulfill our soul purpose), while another is our secondary (that which heals an inner wound and supports our primary.) Our individual personality, stage of personal growth, and cultural background determines what path we are on. Yet the goal of all these paths is ultimately the same whether we call it God-Union, the Great Mystery, or the Tao.



The Five Levels of Attachment: Toltec Wisdom for the Modern World by Miguel Ruiz, Jr.

This is a book that picks up where The Four Agreements left off. Building on the principles found in his father's bestselling book, Ruiz, Jr. explores the ways in which we attach ourselves inappropriately to beliefs and the world.

Ruiz explores the five levels of attachment that cause suffering in our lives. The levels are:

Authentic Self
Accessible and practical, Ruiz's exploration invites us to look at our own lives and see how an unhealthy level of attachment can keep us trapped in a psychological and spiritual fog. He then invites us to reclaim our true freedom by cultivating awareness, detaching, and discovering our true selves.


Heart of a Course in Miracles: Understanding & Applying The 12 Primary Concepts Of The Course by Michael Mirdad

A Course in Miracles is part of the foundation of nearly every single spiritual teacher and author today. With over two-million copies sold, the Course is one of the best-selling books in self-help, New Age genre. Nevertheless, many students on the path find the material to be too complicated and heady.

The Heart of A Course in Miracles explains the 12 primary concepts found in the Course in a powerful, yet clear and applicable manner. It brings the heart and soul back into the Course.

This book is clear, easy to read, and easy to apply. Drawn from the author's 30+ years of teaching, healing, and spiritual counseling, this book highlights both new and time-tested principles for understanding and applying the 12 primary concepts found in A Course in Miracles. In so doing, Mirdad makes the Course material fresh, powerful, and accessible to people of all walks of life.


The Dark Side of Light Chasers: Reclaiming Your Power, Creativity, Brilliance and Dreams by Debbie Ford.

Debbie Ford believes that we each hold within us a trace of every human characteristic that exists, the capacity for every human emotion. We are born with the ability to express this entire spectrum of characteristics. But, Ford points out, our families and our society send us strong messages about which ones are good and bad. So when certain impulses arise, we deny them instead of confronting them, giving them a healthy voice, then letting them go.

It is to these feelings that Ford turns our attention, these parts of our selves that don't fit the personae we have created for the rest of the world. She shows us the effects of living in the dark, of keeping all our supposedly unsavory impulses under wraps. We find ourselves disproportionately frustrated and angry at the selfishness of friends, the laziness of colleagues, the arrogance of siblings. When we are unable to reconcile similar impulses in ourselves, Ford explains, we waste our own energy judging others instead of empathizing. But most important, we deny ourselves the power and freedom of living authentically.

Through the stories and exercises in The Dark Side of the Light Chasers, Debbie Ford shows us not only how to recognize our hidden emotions, but also how to find the gifts they offer us. This is for fans of Marianne Williamson, Neale Donald Walsch, and Deepak Chopra. The very impulses we most fear may be the key to what is lacking in our lives.


Check your local bookstore (like BrowseAbout Books in Rehoboth Beach) or Amazon for copies of the books that are recommended for the class. 

Use the Message Us Page or call the Unity Spiritual Center (USC) to get more details and to join this group! 

Facilitator: Sandy Sounder, the USC's Licensed Unity Teacher.

Location: Zoom from home. All are welcome!